Bridging the Gap

On June 21, friends and family gathered at Pawling High School for the Pawling Girl Scouts Bridging and Court of Awards Ceremony. The evening served as not only a celebration of scouting, but also as an important rite of passage as a number of Girl Scouts took the next step in their journey of camaraderie and community involvement.

Girl Scouts often begin their experience in Kindergarten as Daisies, eventually moving up to attain the rank of Brownies, Juniors, Cadettes, Seniors, and finally Ambassadors. Along the way, the scouts engage in a number of projects that promote unity, environmental awareness, and service to the community. For local Girl Scouts, these endeavors included a litany of projects around Pawling and beyond, including gathering school supplies for underprivileged youth, hurricane relief efforts, and assisting with improvements to the Appalachian Trail and the Akin Library.

That evening, the efforts of the Girl Scouts were recognized by a number of community leaders, including Stancy DuHamel and Donna Chapman of the Harlem Valley Appalachian Trail Community, clinical social worker Coleen Snow, Pawling Middle School Principal Megan Gleason, Parish Family Connection Coordinator Karen DeGennaro, Holmes Camp Director Reverend Bryan Breault, Akin Library Director Matt Hogan, Christ Church Nursery School Director Camille Ludington, Town Board member Reid McGrath, Town Supervisor James Schmitt, and new PCSD Superintendent Kim Fontanta.

In addition to recognizing the efforts of the scouts in the community, the evening saw the traditional Bridging Ceremony. The Girl Scouts were called to the stage, and invited to cross the ceremonial wooden bridge to receive their new rank.

“The Pawling Girl Scouts has a vibrant, active program that allows our girls to explore their world, go on adventures, learn new skills, appreciate their own unique gifts and then use them to make a positive impact both locally and on a larger scale,” said Service Unit and Brownie Troop 10410 Leader Valerie Christie. “Our Bridging and Court of Awards event brought our community together to celebrate another amazing year in Scouting and to recognize the incredible work these emerging leaders are doing now to make our world a better place.”

Daisy Troop 10472

Leaders: Lindy Cosden & Catherine Gibian

Ariana Cosden

Elizabeth Gibian

Audrey Graniero

Allison Jordan

Emma Jordan

Madison Lynch-McGuire

Caroline McWilliams

Mollie Murphy

Alyssa Richards

Hailey Taylor

Daisy Troop 1048

Leaders: Heather Burden-Covell, Diana Lattka,

Abigail Cioppa

Gianna Covell

Falynn Grohmann

Michela Izzo

Alyssa Lattka

Emmaline Murphy

Charlotte Tunney

Brownie Troop 10404

Leaders: Heather Karalis-Becker & Melissa Cole

Kayla Becker

Ally Cole

Ava Cole

Riley Garland

Eden Pitt

Hailey Tunney

Brownie Troop 10596

Leaders: Diana Papa & Leah Fors

Grace Cozzocrea

Rylee Fors

Ava Johnson

Natalie Lehnert

Adelina Papa

Josie Richards

Natalie Sbordone

Genevecia Sonia

Aria Walters

Brownie Troop 10410

Leaders: Valerie Christie, Jen Walsh & Lisa Dall

Caileigh Christie

Madeline Clark

Angelina Dall

Namkhar Jansey

Isabella Papa

Samantha Rodney

Elizabeth Walsh

Junior/Cadette/Senior Troop 10001

Leaders: Deb Keesler, Deb Barnett, Stephanie Gray

Jacqueline Barnett

Genevieve Barnett

Danielle Brandt

Alyssia Cosden

Kennedy Gray

Katelyn Hand

Evie Jan

Kate Keesler

Isabelle Salandra

Chloe Salandra

Jessica Sisalima

Jocelin Sisalima

Caitlyn Weis

Sarah Willie

Junior Troop 1029

Leaders: Cheryl Knowles & Heather Burden-Covell

Rebecca Cioppa

Francesca Covell

Krista Fucile

Juliet Furlong

Samantha Hand Julianna Knowles

Pamela Mondello

Baily O’Leary

Polly Ross

Heidi Zwingman

Cadette Troop 10543

Leaders: Carolyn Dalrymple & Claudine Weis

Everett Dalrymple

Kaitlyn Deierlein,

Caitlin Reynolds

Joslyn Walsh Madison Weis

Cadette Troop 10163

Leaders: Karen Wolf & Cheryl Knowles

Cassidy Bradley

Cynthia Giron Ella Housen

Alexandra Knowles

Sarah Knowles

Julianna Perucci

Amber Stabe