Akin Hall Association Awards $55,000 to 2018 PHS Scholars

Recipients of the 2018 Akin Hall Scholarships (from left): Abigail Reid, Emma Martin, Cameron Walters, Martha Topolnitski, and Elizabeth Barrick.

In keeping with their thirty-nine-year tradition, the Trustees of the Akin Hall Association Scholarship Endowment Fund fulfilled their mission by honoring the following students, who ranked in the top ten percent of the 2018 Pawling High School Senior Class, with a total of $55,000 in awards.

The five 2018 $10,000-scholarship honorees were presented their awards at the Akin Hall Association’s June 16 reception at the Akin Free Library with family members and school administration present. The five scholars and the universities the will be attending in the fall are: Elizabeth Barrick (Washington University at St. Louis), Emma Martin (University at Rhode Island), Abigail Reid (Cornell University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences), Martha Topolnitski (North Carolina State University), and Cameron Walters (Clemson University).

At the Pawling Senior Awards night, James Bellucci received $2,000 to help with personal expenses pursuant to his appointment to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Also, Alex Badia, Kelly Koerner, and Olivia Zoeller each received $1,000 Merit awards.

The Association was formed more than a century ago by Albert J. Akin, a Pawling benefactor, who provided the Akin Free Library building and an endowment to promote and preserve the history, culture, spiritual roots, and educational opportunities in the local area. The applications and essays from the top ten percent of the 2018 Senior Class were ranked on their academic achievements, school and community activities, leadership, volunteer service, and need. The committee is very proud of these top students, who are recognized this year for exhibiting the values esteemed by the Akin Hall Association’s founder.