Pawling’s 2017 Election Day Results

On November 7, Town and Village residents in Pawling came out to cast their votes in the 2017 General Election. When the polls closed that evening, several key races were decided that will usher in changes and ultimately begin to shape the future of government at the local and county level.

In the race for Dutchess County Legislator for District 23, incumbent John M. Thomes (REP, CON, IND) was re-elected to another two-year term, defeating challenger Helen R. Grosso (DEM, WOR). Of votes cast, Mr. Thomes received 1,660 votes (58.04%) over Mrs. Grosso’s 1,119 votes (41.92%).

In the Town of Pawling, James Schmitt (REP, CON, IND) was elected to a two-year term as Town Supervisor. Of votes cast, Mr. Schmitt received 1,523 votes (96.94%). Town Clerk Catherine Giordano (REP, CON, IND) was re-elected to another four-year term with 1,614 votes (99.32% of the vote). Town Justice David Daniels (REP, CON, IND) was also re-elected to a four-year position with 1,543 votes (99.55%). Finally, Town Tax Collector Barbara Tyson (REP, CON, IND) was also elected for another term with 1,566 total votes (99.24%). All four candidates ran for their respective positions unopposed.

The race for two seats on the Pawling Town Board saw a three-way contest between incumbent William Johnson (REP, CON, IND) and newcomers Drew Montgomery (DEM, CS2) and James “Jimbo” McCarthy (REP, CON, IND). Voters elected Mr. McCarthy with a total of 1,425 votes (41.11% of the vote) and re-elected Mr. Johnson with 1,094 votes (31.56%). Mr. Montgomery finished third with a total of 938 votes (27.06%). Members of the Town Board are elected to four-year terms.

Residents would also cast their votes in favor of a new Town Superintendent of Highways. Of votes cast, Jay Dickinson (REP, IND) received 1,150 votes (53.81%) overcoming incumbent John Daley (DEM, BR, CS2), who received 986 votes (46.14%). Mr. Dickinson will serve as Superintendent of Highways for a four-year term.

In the Village of Pawling, Mayor Robert Liffland (REP, CON, IND) was re-elected to another four-year term. Mr. Liffland ran unopposed, garnering 316 votes (95.47% of the vote). Village Justice Taren Cummings (REP, CON, IND) was also elected to a four-year term, running unopposed and receiving 343 votes (99.13%).

Finally, two Village Trustees were re-elected after running unopposed. Of votes cast, Lauri Taylor (REP) received 288 votes (46.15%) and Earl Slocum (REP, CON, IND) garnered 323 votes (51.76%). Mrs. Taylor and Mr. Slocum will each be appointed to four-year terms as Trustees.